• On the April 30 Ballot, voters in Abbeville will be voting on the following; voters outside of Abbeville will be voting on only the Sales Tax Proposition.

    Vermilion Parish

    Abbeville Police Chief

    Mike Hardy (Rep.)
    William “Bill” Spearman (No party)


    Parishwide School Board Sales Tax

    Shall the Parish School Board of the Parish of Vermilion, State of Louisiana, under the provisions of Section 338.134 of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended, and other constitutional and statutory authority, be authorized to levy and collect a tax of one-half of one percent (1/2%) (the “Tax”) (an estimated $4,362,000 reasonably expected at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year) in perpetuity, from and after July 1, 2022, upon the sale at retail, the use, the lease or rental, the consumption, and storage for use or consumption, of tangible personal property and on sales of services in the Parish of Vermilion, Louisiana, all as defined by law, with the proceeds of the Tax (after paying the reasonable and necessary expenses of collecting and administering the Tax) to be dedicated and used solely for the purpose of increasing the salaries and benefits of school employees?